The function and purpose of the chakras

When the Kundalini is awakened

Traditional texts mention that they are 88,000 chakra. That means even the smallest part of the human body is a sensitive organ that accept, transform and transfer energy. About 40 secondary chakra can be considered important.

The seven main chakra ( 1. Muladhara 2. Svadhisthana 3. Nabhi-Manipura 4. Anahata 5. Vishuddhi 6. Ajna 7. Sahasrara) are placed along the spine, and they are so important for the body mind and soul. The real position of the seven chakra is in the etheric body.

Chakra look like flowers, they have different colors and number of petals. The petals represent the nadis, the energetic channels, through which energy flows into the chakra.

Α creation of mine: The Third Eye

The chakras are in a state of continuous spinning, that's why the name chakra in Sanskrit means wheel. The spinning attracts energy and either absorbs or transmits it , depending on its directions. The chakras spin either clockwise or counterclockwise. ( I will write about that in a different article).

The three fundamental nadis or energy pathways in the system, the Ida, Pingala and Sushumna.

In the Pranamayakosha or the energy body, there are 72,000 nadis. The 72,000 nadis spring from three basic nadis – the left, the right and the central – the Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna.

The word “nadi” does not mean nerve but rather are pathways or channels of prana in the system. These 72,000 nadis don’t have a physical manifestation. In the sense, if you cut the body and look in, you will not find them. But as you become more aware, you will notice the energy is not moving at random, it is moving in established pathways. There are 72,000 different ways in which the energy or prana moves.

Within the spine, if you know its physical construction, you will know there are two holes on either side of the spine which are like conduit pipes for all the nerves to pass. This is the Ida and the Pingala, the left and the right channels.

Sushumna is placed in the spine through the chakras and reaches to the top of the head.

Only when energies enter into Sushumna, life really begins.

When I'm practicing yoga

Yoga offers us harmony in the chakras while simultaneously activating the three basic nadis and this results in the release of kundalini. The kundalini found coiled as a snake at the base of the spine.

In most people, kundalini energy flows in a small amount into the sushumna. But when it is awakened by the growing consciousness, it rises in the sushumna like an inflated river and activates the chakras.

In his book "Raja Yoga," Swami Vivekananda describes it as trying to "force a passage through this hollow canal, and as it rises step by step, as it were, layer after layer of the mind becomes open and all the different visions and wonderful powers come to the Yogi.

My wings-symbol of freedom

" When the Kundalini reaches the brain, the Swami writes, the yogi is no longer trapped in the cage of his physical and mental identity and the soul is free.

#yoga #kundalini #chakra #nadis #pingala #ida #meditation #wellness #harmony #better_life